Discussions

ROMANCING THE HOME

Posted Feb. 9, 2011 by Cheryl Terrace in Open

commented on Feb. 13, 2011
by Neon1

It’s that romantic time of year again. Prepare to get inundated with ‘the true meaning of love’ (from the folks selling chocolate, flowers, jewelry and or lingerie). As a holistic interior designer I take a different approach and ask ‘what kind of relationship are you having with your home?’ Just like true love, we know that home is much more than just a physical connection. I believe if we treat our home as we treat our sweetest lover, we experience a deeper connection to our dwellings, and ultimately, ourselves.

Is your bedroom conducive to romance? I often witness this room, sadly, as the least sexy of spaces. Since it is our private space it often gets neglected and becomes a storage bin for clothes and you-name it-clutter. Ideally, your bedroom should be for sleep and sex (and why I am not a fan of TV in the bedroom as it disrupts both activities). It is best decorated simply with soothing colors and patterns to help induce a restful calm state. Create harmony and balance with symmetry, pairing items such as night tables, lighting on each side of the bed and equal access to both sides of the bed. This encourages a more intimate equal relationship. As difficult as it is in a small space, do not let junk (or dirt) accumulate under the bed as it can disrupt your sleep (or chi in feng shui speak). Always use natural non-synthetic bedding, pillows, and fabrics (everywhere in your home). Complete darkness is vital for getting proper sleep and even a clock light can be disruptive. The right room temperature (cool), and good air circulation is also critical.